Oak Lawn High Class of ’70


Michelle Knop loses husband after illness

Posted in Departed by smarski on September 23, 2011

Our heartfelt sympathy to Michelle on the death of her husband this past July. Here’s her note:

“…my husband Greg passed away this past July, 25.  He had gone into the hospital on May 3, for a lung transplant (he had intersticial lung fibroscis).  Initially the transplant was a success and was sent home too early, I think. Only being home less that 48 hours had to go back in for a second surgery to secure sutures that came loose. He was literally coughing up a lung, the new one. He also had blood clots and was on blood thinners which was a problem because if the level of blood thinners was not exactly correct he would bleed into both lungs and go into respiritory distress, which happened a couple of times and eventually had a traich collar for those episodes. After 2 weeks the culture on his new lung came back and was found to have herpes. 2 different anti-viral and experimental drugs finally kept the virus at bay but he was totally malnourished and his body would not accept tube and iv feeds. His kidneys also failed and eventually there was nothing else that could be done for him and he did not want to live on life support. He wanted more than anything to get his chance for a new lung, had told me he was not afraid of dying and was very brave though the whole ordeal.  My good friends from OLCHS, Mary Murino and Chris (Brodemus) Verhage were by my side alot at the hospital and away from the hospital. I don’t know what I would have done without their support. It has taken me awhile to be able to talk about all this and I know that it will take a long time more to heal.  I just wanted to let you know.  Michelle Rogers

One Response to 'Michelle Knop loses husband after illness'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Michelle Knop loses husband after illness'.

  1. Cheryl Schoen said,

    My hearfelt sympathy goes out to you for your loss. Let friends and family help you in any way they can. Be strong, have faith.

    Sincerely, Cheryl Schoen (Hoff)


Leave a comment